HFCRD Edwin Parr Nominee Eric Gilmour Wins Zone One Edwin Parr Award!

  Posted: October 26, 2016

Posted on 

Holy Family Catholic Regional Division (HFCRD) warmly congratulates teacher Eric Gilmour, who was named the Zone One Edwin Parr Award winner for his work at Glenmary School in Peace River last year.  Gilmour, who was a first year teacher in the 2015/16 school year, was given this award at the ASBA Zone One awards banquet on Thursday September 22nd by ASBA President Helen Clease, and the Zone One Edwin Parr selection committee: High Prairie School Division Board Chair and ASBA Zone One Chair Tammy Henkel, Peace River School Division Vice Chair Louise Woroniuk and Peace Wapiti School District Trustee Sharilyn Anderson.

“I am honoured to be selected as the Zone One Edwin Parr Award winner.  It is such an honour to be recognized at this level for my hard work,” said Eric.  “Thank you to former Glenmary School Principal John Wiedrick for nominating me for this award and to the Glenmary staff for warmly welcoming me to the school and supporting me through my first year of teaching.  And a special thank you to teacher Brendan Nichols who answered all my questions and ensured I felt welcomed in the school.”

Through Eric’s participation in HFCRD’s New Teacher Mentoring Program, HFCRD Learning Coaches supported Eric throughout his successful first year of teaching.  In his classroom, Eric successfully catered to a wide range of learning styles in his class and developed excellent relationships with students.  Every class was an engaging mix of audio, visual and kinesthetic learning activities.  Outside of the classroom, Eric was involved in the community by volunteering as a football coach for the Peace River Pioneers.  Unfortunately, Eric is no longer with Glenmary School as he was offered a teaching position in his hometown of Leduc where he lives closer to family and friends.

“On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I congratulate Eric for this outstanding achievement.  He is a gifted young teacher that will go far in his teaching career,” said HFCRD Board Chair Kelly Whalen.  “I congratulate all Zone 1 Edwin Parr Award nominees.  As many could feel in the award ceremony, Zone 1 is blessed with many talented first-year teachers.”

The Edwin Parr award is given annually to eight first-year teachers across the province.  Every year, school boards in Zone 1 recognize exceptional first-year teachers in their divisions with an Edwin Parr Nomination.  All nominees in Zone 1 are recognized at the ASBA Fall General Meeting Awards Banquet where the Zone 1 Award winner is announced by the selection committee.  As the Zone 1 Edwin Parr Award winner, Eric will attend the ASBA banquet in Edmonton to be recognized provincially for this outstanding accomplishment.  Congratulations Eric!