Whalen Elected Chair and Arcand-Lavoie as Vice-Chair

  Posted: August 30, 2016

Holy Family Catholic Regional Division No. 37 (HFCRD) is pleased to announce the election of Board Chair Kelly Whalen and Vice Chair Dianne Arcand-Lavoie.  The nominations and elections took place at the 2016/17 HFCRD Board of Trustees Organizational Meeting on Friday August 26th.  Both nominations were not contested.

“I am honoured to have the opportunity to serve as Board Chair of HFCRD and I thank the Board of Trustees for electing me into this new role.  Thank you to Dianne for her many years of service as Board Chair.” said Board Chair Kelly Whalen.  “HFCRD is an amazing school division that provides quality Catholic education to Peace Country students, and I look forward to leading HFCRD through the exciting year ahead.”  First elected as a Ward 4 Trustee in the January 2011 by-election, Whalen is starting his sixth year on the HFCRD Board of Trustees.  Whalen also served as a Trustee with St. Thomas Aquinas Roman Catholic Schools for four years.

Both Board Chair Whalen and Vice Chair Arcand-Lavoie are dedicated Trustees with many years of experience serving on the HFCRD Board of Trustees.  Board Chair Whalen has increased his involvement with HFCRD in recent years to better prepare himself for his new role.  He has sat on the Facilities Committee, Ft Vermilion Committee, Negotiations Committee, Grimshaw Shared Schools Facility Project Committee and the Glenmary School Modernization Committee in recent years.  His committed involvement with HFCRD has well-prepared him for the role of Board Chair.

“I thoroughly enjoyed my six years as Board Chair and am now ready to step down.  I have enjoyed my time as Board Chair very much and thank the Board of Trustees for many wonderful years,” said the newly-elected Vice Chair Dianne Arcand-Lavoie.  “Board Chair Whalen is a strong leader and I am confident that he will do a fantastic job of leading our Board.”  First elected as a Ward 4 Trustee in 2004, Arcand-Lavoie is starting her 13th year on the Board of Trustees.

2016/2017 HFCRD Committee Appointments

*The Chair is ex-officio on all Committees.

Community Engagement Committee

·         Trustee Fisher, Trustee Cailliau

Finance Committee

·         Trustee Lizee, Vice Chair Lavoie, Trustee David Badger

·         Trustee Fisher (alternate)

Facilities Committee

·         Trustee Fisher, Trustee David, Vice Chair Whalen.

·         Trustee Cailliau (alternate)

Ft Vermillion Educational Services Agreement Committee

·         Trustee Michaud

·         Trustee Lizee (alternate)

Negotiations Committee

·         Vice Chair Lavoie, Trustee Fisher, Trustee Lizee

·         Trustee David Badger (alternate)

Ad Hoc Committee – High Prairie Partnership

·         Board Chair Whalen, Trustee Lizee, Trustee Fisher

·         Trustee Wright (alternate)

Teacher Board Advisory Committee (TBAC)

·         Trustee Michaud, Trustee Lizee, Trustee Fisher

·         Vice Chair Lavoie (alternate)

Ad Hoc Committee – Grimshaw Schools Shared Facility Project

·         Board Chair Whalen, Vice Chair Lavoie

·         Trustee David Badger (alternate)

Ad Hoc Committee – Glenmary School Modernization

·         Board Chair Whalen, Vice Chair Lavoie

·         Trustee Fisher (alternate)

Student Discipline and Appeals Committee

·         Whole Board

Personnel Committee (Tabled to September Board Meeting)

·         Trustee Cailliau, Trustee Lizee and Trustee Fisher.

·         Trustee Michaud (alternate)

Budget Committee (Tabled to September Board Meeting)

·         Trustee Gayton, Trustee David and Trustee Fisher.

·        Trustee Wright (alternate)

Ad Hoc Committee – EP School Viability/Closure

·         dissolved

Ad Hoc Committee – C2

·         dissolved

Ad Hoc Committee – Selection of Edwin Parr Nominee

·         dissolved

Board Representatives


Alberta Catholic School Trustees Association

·         Trustee Cailliau, Trustee Michaud (alternate)

Alberta School Boards Association Zone 1

·         Vice Chair Lavoie, Trustee Lizee (alternate)

Grimshaw Community Services Board

·         Trustee Gayton

High Prairie Joint Use and Facilities Board

·         Trustee Lizee

Peace River Community Services Board

·         Vice Chair Arcand-Lavoie

Peace River Joint Use Recreation Board

·         Board Chair Whalen

Grimshaw Community Services Board

·         Board Chair Whalen

McLennan Joint Use Facilities

·         Trustee Fisher

Valleyview Joint Use and Facilities

·         Trustee Cailliau, Trustee David Badger (alternate

Archdiocesan Pastoral Committee

·         Trustee Fisher, Trustee Lizee (alternate)

TEBA Representative

·         Vice Chair Lavoie